Salient Features. (Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir)


The Constitution, as of 2002, has 158 articles divided into 13 parts and 7 schedules. The divisions of articles is as follows. The numbers in braces after show the articles included in a particular part.

  • Part I: Preliminary (1-2)
  • Part II: The State (3-5)
  • Part III: Permanent Residents (6-10)
  • Advertisement
  • Part IV: Directive Principles of State Policy (11-25)
  • Part V: The Executive (26-45)
    • The Governor (26-34)
    • The Council of Ministers (35-41)
    • The Advocate General (42)
    • Conduct of Government Business (43-45)
  • Part VI: The State Legislature (46-92)
    • Composition of the State Legislature (46-50)
    • General Provisions (51-56)
    • Officers of the State Legislature (57-63)
    • Conduct of Business (64-67)
    • Disqualification of Members (68-71)
    • Powers, Privileges and Immunities of the State Legislature and Its members (72-73)
    • Legislative Procedure (74-78)
    • Procedure In Financial Matters (79-84)
    • Procedure Generally (85-90)
    • Legislative power of the Governor (91)
    • Breakdown of Constitutional Machinery (92)
  • Part VII The High Court (93-113)
    • Subordinate Courts (109-113)
  • Part VIII: Finance, Property and Contracts (114-123)
  • Part IX: The Public Services (124-137)
    • The Public Service Commission (128-137)
  • Part X: Elections (138-142)
  • Part XI: Miscellaneous Provisions (143-146)
  • Part XII: Amendment of the Constitution (147)
  • Part XIII: Transmonal Issues (153-158)

Articles 148 to 152 have been omitted in Part XIII.


  • Schedule IOmitted (Repealed)
  • Schedule II: Emoluments, Allowances and Privileges of the Governor
  • Schedule III: Salaries and allowances of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Council
  • Schedule IV: Salaries, allowances and other conditions of service of the Judges of the High Court.
  • Schedule V: Forms of Oaths or affirmations
  • Schedule VI: Regional Languages
  • Schedule VII: Provision as to disqualification on ground of defections

Although India has a unitary citizenship, Constitution of Jammu & Kashmir defines a concept of Permanent Residency, in Part III. This concept is functionally similar to citizenship, and permanent residents of the State enjoy rights not enjoyed by non-residents. Citizens of India who do not have permanent residency in the State have limited property ownership rights.

error: DMCA Copyright Protected !!